Pulley stops operating on December 8, 2026. About 5,000 companies need a new home for their cap table, and every vendor in the category is pitching them.
This comparison covers the five options most Pulley customers are weighing. Competitor prices come from each vendor's public pricing page as of September 16, 2026, linked below.
Capable is the closest match to Pulley on price, scope and layout
Capable was built to replace Pulley. It matches Pulley's prices and keeps a layout Pulley users recognise.
- Startup: $1,200 a year or $120 a month.
- Growth: $3,500 a year or $350 a month. Adds e-signature, board and stockholder approvals, Form 3921, Rule 701 and 83(b) tracking, exercise requests with payment, custom reports and HRIS sync.
- Stakeholders: unlimited on both plans.
- Trial: 14 days with everything unlocked, or 30 days when importing from Pulley, Carta or AngelList.
- Migration: self-serve Pulley import with reconciliation, or free done-for-you migration within 24 hours.
- Data: Excel and Open Cap Table Format export at any time.
- AI: a connector for Claude and ChatGPT, with writes held for admin approval.
The five options side by side
| Capable | Carta | Cake Equity | Mantle | Eqvista | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entry paid price | $1,200/yr | Quote | $1,000/yr | $1,200/yr | $2 per stakeholder per month |
| Stakeholders on entry plan | Unlimited | Tiered | 25 | Unlimited | Per stakeholder |
| Mid-tier price | $3,500/yr | Quote | $2,750/yr (40 stakeholders) | $3,000/yr | Custom above 50 |
| Monthly billing | Yes | No | Discount for annual | Check with vendor | Monthly per stakeholder |
| 409A | Record yours; order separately | Accepts Pulley's as-is | 2 a year on Team | 1 a year on Growth | From $990/yr |
| Price held after year one | Yes, while subscribed | No, year one only | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Sources: Carta via Pulley's FAQ, Cake pricing, Mantle pricing, Eqvista pricing. Check current terms with each vendor.
Carta fits companies that want the biggest vendor and a transfer agent
Carta is the category leader and Pulley's exclusive transition partner. Customers who opt in by November 30, 2026 keep Pulley pricing for year one and get credit for unused prepaid balances.
Carta does not publish prices. Vendr reports a median contract of $15,400 a year across 405 purchases.
Carta also carries history that some founders weigh. In January 2024 Linear's CEO said Carta used his company's cap table data to solicit a secondary sale, and Carta exited the secondaries business days later. In December 2024 founders told TechCrunch that cancelling required a scheduled meeting; Carta called it a one-time staffing issue.
Read the full Carta vs Capable comparison.
Cake Equity is a lower-cost option with stakeholder tiers
Cake publishes four plans: Free for 5 stakeholders, Build at $1,000 a year for 25, Team at $2,750 a year for 40 with two 409As, and Pro on quote. Extra stakeholders cost $1 a year on Build and $5 a year on Team, per Cake's pricing page.
Cake is a good fit if you have a small team and want 409As bundled. Watch the tier limits if you are hiring.
Mantle offers unlimited stakeholders with a free starter plan
Mantle's pricing page lists Starter free, Essentials at $1,200 a year and Growth at $3,000 a year with one 409A. Every plan includes unlimited stakeholders.
Mantle is a reasonable choice for very early companies. Compare its compliance features (Form 3921, Rule 701, 83(b)) against your needs before a Series A.
Eqvista is the cheapest place to start
Eqvista's pricing page lists a free cap table for fewer than 20 stakeholders and a Premium plan at $2 per stakeholder per month. 409A valuations start at $990 a year.
Per-stakeholder pricing is cheap for small teams and climbs as you hire. At 60 stakeholders the Premium list price would be $1,440 a year before 409A.
Pick with these five questions
- What will I pay in year two, at next year's headcount? Get it in writing.
- Can I import Pulley's export myself and see the reconciliation? Waiting on a queue hides problems until late.
- Is there a stakeholder cap? Tiers turn hiring into a pricing event.
- Can I export Excel and OCF myself, any day? That is your exit if the vendor changes.
- Does the plan include the filings I owe? Form 3921, Rule 701 and 83(b) arrive whether or not the software helps.
Capable wins on the questions that decide the next three years
Capable publishes its prices, holds them while you stay, has no stakeholder cap, lets you run the Pulley import yourself, and exports everything on demand.
Start with the migration guide, or see what Pulley's shutdown means.