The Pulley alternative that keeps Pulley’s prices.
The short answer
Capable is the best Pulley alternative for most startups: it charges Pulley’s prices ($1,200 or $3,500 a year), includes unlimited stakeholders, imports your Pulley export in about ten minutes, and holds your price while you stay subscribed. Carta suits companies that need a transfer agent and accept quote-based pricing after year one.
- Pulley shuts down December 8, 2026
- Carta opt-in deadline: November 30, 2026
- 30-day free trial with everything unlocked when you import
Five realistic Pulley replacements, compared on the terms that matter
Prices come from each vendor’s public pricing page as of September 16, 2026. Where a vendor does not publish a detail, the table says so.
| Capable | Carta | Cake Equity | Mantle | Eqvista | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entry paid plan | $1,200/yr or $120/mo | Quoted | $1,000/yr | $1,200/yr | $2 per stakeholder per month |
| Stakeholders on entry plan | Unlimited | Tiered | 25 | Unlimited | Per stakeholder |
| Mid-tier plan | $3,500/yr or $350/mo | Quoted | $2,750/yr, 40 stakeholders | $3,000/yr | Custom above 50 stakeholders |
| Price after year one | Held while subscribed | Carta pricing (year-one Pulley match) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Monthly billing | — | Yes (annual discounted) | Check with vendor | Yes | |
| Self-serve Pulley import with reconciliation | Carta team migrates | Check with vendor | Check with vendor | Check with vendor | |
| 409A | Record any; buy separately | Accepts Pulley's as-is | 2 a year on Team | 1 a year on Growth | From $990/yr |
| AI connector | Claude & ChatGPT, approval-gated writes | Claude plugin, cap table read-only | Check with vendor | Check with vendor | Check with vendor |
Capable wins on price after year one, stakeholder caps, and a migration you control
No year-two price change
No stakeholder cap
A migration you can check
Capable is the only Pulley alternative that matches Pulley’s prices, removes stakeholder caps, and holds the price for as long as you stay.
Carta is the right choice only if you need what Carta uniquely sells
Carta is Pulley’s exclusive transition partner. Customers who opt in by November 30, 2026 keep Pulley pricing for year one and receive credit for unused prepaid balances, per Pulley’s FAQ.
Carta does not publish prices. Vendr reports a median Carta contract of $15,400 a year across 405 purchases.
Choose Carta if you need an SEC-registered transfer agent or fund administration. For cap table management alone, compare Capable and Carta side by side.
Ask every provider these five questions before you sign
What will I pay in year two?
Can I import Pulley's export myself?
Is there a stakeholder cap?
Can I export everything, any day?
Does my plan include the filings I owe?
Two Pulley dates are hard deadlines
- Sep 15, 2026Pulley announces it will shut down and names Carta as its exclusive transition partner.
- Nov 30, 2026Last day to opt in to Pulley's Carta transition offer.
- Dec 8, 2026Pulley ceases all operations and services.
- Jan 31, 2027Limited, view-only access to Pulley data ends. Export before this.
Export from Pulley now, even if you have not chosen where to go. See the export checklist.
Pulley alternative questions, answered
What is the best Pulley alternative?+
For most seed to Series B companies, Capable. It keeps Pulley's $1,200 and $3,500 annual prices, includes unlimited stakeholders, imports Pulley exports self-serve with reconciliation, offers monthly billing, and holds your price while you stay subscribed.
Why is Pulley shutting down?+
Pulley has not given a detailed public reason. It announced on September 15, 2026 that it will cease operations on December 8, 2026, and named Carta as its exclusive transition partner.
Do I have to move to Carta?+
No. The Carta offer is opt-in with a November 30, 2026 deadline. You can move your cap table to any provider using Pulley's exports.
Which Pulley alternative is cheapest?+
Eqvista and Mantle have free starting tiers. Among paid plans that include e-signature and compliance tracking, Cake's Team plan is $2,750 a year for 40 stakeholders and Capable's Growth plan is $3,500 a year with unlimited stakeholders.
Which alternatives have no stakeholder cap?+
Capable and Mantle include unlimited stakeholders. Carta, Cake Equity and Eqvista price by stakeholder count or tier.
How fast can I switch to Capable?+
The self-serve import takes about ten minutes. If you send us the files, we migrate you for free within 24 hours. Companies importing from Pulley get a 30-day free trial with everything unlocked.
Try the migration before you decide.
Import your Pulley export and see the reconciliation. 30-day free trial with everything unlocked; your card is charged only when it ends.